Temple of ancient Egyptian religion

Awakening

So many times I have wondered about the magical words I chant each and every morning with the sunrise.

Nehes, nehes, nehes

Nehes em hotep

Nehes em neferu

nebet hotepet

Weben em hotep

Weben em neferu

Nutjert en Ankh,

Nefer em pet!

Pet em hotep

Ta em hotep

Nutjert sat Nut

Sat Geb, Merit Ausar,

Nutjert asha renu!

Anekh hrak

Anekh hrak

Tu a atu

Tu a atu

Nebet Aset.

So many times their magic has transformed my perception and woke me up. My days are different when I consciously recite these magical words of awakening. I remember the first time I have noticed that I recite these words at the exact time of dawn out of sleep. We were traveling to Greece by bus and first rays of sun light have touched my face. I was waking up and I have noticed that I recite these words. I couldn’t stop. I joined my priestess self and joined in chanting consciously watching the sun to rise above horizon and flooding me with beautiful life energy I needed so much after tiring journey. Everything fell away and my spirit my mind my heart and body were rejuvenated… renewed with new energy. I was surprised at power of the chant. I was entranced by this experience. Watching my wise self taking over. I didn’t fight it. I let Goddess within me to overtake me completely. I marveled at the beauty of the morning of the light and the horizon with the see as we travelled through the Greek mountains to our destination. This experience fueled me. Gave me something profound I couldn’t put into words for so many years.

I have started reading a new book I have bought recently. Feasts of Light by Normandi Ellis. I took the book out of my library with single intention – to learn more about festivals I want to devote to each and every day of my life. I am resolved to incorporate the rituals and festivals of ancient Egyptians to my life… to be performed by Temple of Alexandria. I still feel inadequacy and fear. Will I be able to perform the duties of Priestess? Am I really good enough? My fears aren’t crippling anymore thanks to Avalonian Thealogical Seminary and the work I have undertaken there during the last year. The fears are still there but they have transformed into allies on my journey prompting me to study and to undertake my work as well as I can. My heart is in my work and it burns with renewed passion for my Egyptian path.

I know this will be transforming experience of discovery for me. The first page has spoken to me… so early in my reading… it resonated within me the old question and there was the moment when I suddenly realized the answer. Who or what do I really awake with my daily morning chant? My ka travels through the body of Goddess Nut each night. Through the underworld where I battle my own demons. Where I am facing all my emotions and experiences to be born renewed each morning. What do I recite in the chant? Rise in silence, rise in peace… Yes, I am awakening some part of me… my true self… purified and peaceful. Nutjert en Ankh – Goddess of Life. Are truly the letters of ANKH representations of each of Ogdoad? Amon, Amaunet for A, Nun, Naunet for N, Kek Kauket for K and Heh and Hauhet for H? Yes… yes… it must be so. Ogdoad the eight elements of creation and Life being the fifth element. It must be so. All my energy is renewed when I utter Nutjert en Ankh. The inner big bang is happening in my heart supplying my being with renewed creation and regeneration… with precious life energy! This alone is enough but there is more. Lots more.

What really happens when I say Nutjert sat Nut. I am a daughter of Nut. Nut swallows sun each night and through her body He travels at night and is born again each morning. I am reminded that I go through the underworld each and every night and am being born again purified each morning. My dreams are memories of my journey. Sometimes I need to remember them to interpret them and sometimes it is enough to live them. My dreams are showing me my shadows and my demons. They take me on the journey where I renew myself through the dedication to understanding myself healing myself to be wiser and renewed. God Re travels each night through the body of Nut. Not even Gods are ignorant to shadow. Even Re rediscovers his power and is regenerated by each of his journeys. Because healing the shadows brings regeneration and eternity. It brings wisdom and love. It brings knowledge and wisdom.

Sat Geb – the God of Earth… my body that has been entrusted to me to take care of and nourish… to house my spirit. My body is regenerated by food water sleep and my spirit. My spirit and my body are ruled by Maat – the Goddess of balance and harmony because between Nut and Geb Maat rules. There must be balance because disease and horrible thoughts come when Maat is disturbed by wrong choice of food lack of water or sleep or horrible thoughts and trauma. This gives me hope that all can be restored with proper care.

Merit Ausar – I am smiling at this point… 😀 Eset within me is married to Osiris – God of harvest and also underworld. Osiris gives me profound connection to underworld. Because like Isis I enter the underworld through my dreams and dream trances. My love to my husband Osiris carries me to him each night. The heart is a gateway to Underworld… the gateway to our shadows. Our emotions are the only true gate to the truth. Our emotions don’t lie. They tell us even things we refuse to acknowledge even to ourselves. They are there whether we listen to them or not. Our heart is a gateway of our transformation and emotions are the language it speaks. It is universal language. Language of the truth of Maat.

Eset is a Goddess of thousand names and so is each and every one  us for it is only our mind that sets borders of what we can accomplish create and who we are.

I basically remind myself each morning that I am much more than I let myself believe more than I can imagine. I have only vague idea of who I am and what I can do. This actually frees me from the prison of my beliefs and perception. I can believe in myself because the possibilities of who I can be and what I can accomplish are a mystery hidden in my heart. That is the reason why acknowledging our emotions and how we feel is so important in the process of transformation.

It is only natural that ancient Egyptians put so much importance to our heart the center of our emotions the gateway to the Underworld to our true self if we take into consideration all that has been said here. It is only natural that our heart deserves to be mummified separately… purified in the process and put back into the body. We can’t enter the Underworld without our heart! Which leads me to the concept of Anubis’s scales and weighing of heart of diseased. If we poison our hearts with horrible emotions and horrible thoughts it is beyond repair and the gate to the underworld is closed to us forever. We basically barricade our entrance to eternity and regeneration of our spirit mind and body. We can not discover ourselves… we are forever damned to be only a fraction of who we can become. But this is a material for another blog post… 🙂

Leave a Reply

